3. Starting LCHF

This is the website that first got me started on LCHF : https://www.dietdoctor.com

It also got me questioning our food pyramid and our so called healthy guidelines. Why were there so many fat and sick people in our  generation, compared to when I was a child? Didn’t my ancestors eat like how lchf advocated? What did I have to lose if I tried it out?

Wasn’t I alarmed to learn that one tsp sugar has a carb count of approx 4.2 g carbs That meant that my cuppa tea alone was 8.4g from sugar + carbs from milk that meant in my tea alone I was daily drinking 50 g carbs or more and possibly storing these carbs as fat when not burning it up with activity and exercise!!!

Learning To Understand How Carbs Affect Us:
Carbohydrates when consumed are broken down into simple sugars The sugars are then absorbed into the blood, raising blood glucose levels. This increases the production of the hormone insulin. High insulin levels prevents fat burning and leads to fat storage.

On the other hand, a low intake of carbs gives you a lower blood glucose and lower amounts of insulin. This increases fat release from your fat stores and increases fat burning. This usually leads to fat loss, especially around the belly.

A LCHF diet makes it easier for the body to use its fat reserves, as fat release is no longer blocked by high insulin levels. Eating healthy fats also produces a feeling of longer-lasting satiety and removes the urge to be constantly grazing.

Leave a Reply

