19. DIY Heba Pap (Premix) Recipe

DIY Recipe For Heba Pap Premix:

When I first heard of Heba Pap, I was really keen to buy some and try it out asap. Alas I soon discovered stores in my town didn’t seem to stock it. YET I knew ladies in my health group, were discussing various stores that stocked it, in other places such as Durban. Before I could trouble family members to buy some for me, I decided I was first going to try and concoct my own recipe blend premix. 

I already had a fair amount of knowledge of low carb flour baking and besides, if I came up with a good enough substitute, I could always make a batch as and when I wished to, plus could tweak it to my liking as well. After all, what did I have to lose, trying it out. 

Pulling out my list of required ingredients and electric grinder, I set about grinding a cup each of flaxseeds and sunflower seeds into seed meal. Lo and behold I soon added my various ingredients together, using experience and guesswork as well and now had what I called my own DIY Heba Pap Premix substitute!!!

 Finding recipes online to use this premix, I was soon churning out mug breads, roti, pap and crackers etc. The one recipe I tried out and disliked was koeksusters. I  really couldn’t stand the heavy apple cider vinegar taste in it, that the recipe called for and to me it tasted awful and was regarded a flop. 

Alhamdulillah I now had my own DIY premix recipe, to help me sustain the LCHF lifestyle I had embarked upon. What was more rewarding was discovering upon weighing, that my recipe was the equivalent of 2 packets of premix. My only regret about  my recipe was the strong aftertaste of flaxseeds in some of my products. For my next batch I decided I was going to try and sub some nut flour, for some of the flax meal. 

Below I will share with you all, my premix recipe for those who also want some but can’t find it in their stores. Also for those who wish to make their own mix. I don’t guarantee it to be the same as Heba Pap but am confident it will yield similar results, to those of  Heba Pap recipes.

Recipe for DIY Heba Pap:

1 cup coconut flour

1 cup sunflower seed meal

1 cup flaxseed meal (or nut flour or seed meal of choice)

1/4 cup psyllium husks

3 tsp xanthan gum (I subbed ground goondhar for it)

1 tsp Himalayan salt 

Mix together well and store in an airtight container or sealed packet. 

Makes approximately 400g of premix.

Leave a Reply

