20. Discovering Keto Mug Cakes + Chocolate Coconut Mug Cake Recipe

What are  low carb or keto mug cakes some of  you might be wondering?  Well I too, had never heard of these almost-instant cakes until I started reading on the internet about them. They were like the newly discovered treasure of some low carbers. It boggled my mind that a few quick ingredients tossed together and cooked for a minute or two in the microwave, could make a cup/mug cake or muffin! But since I was desperate to have some guilt free cake one day to eat, plus craving a sweet treat, I decided to give one a try.

Instead of the wheat flour of normal mug cakes, these low-carb or keto recipes usually called for almond flour, coconut flour, dessicated coconut, nut flours or cocoa. For sweeteners they often called for xylitol, stevia, erythritol and often liquid sweeteners as well. After blending the ingredients a certain recipe called for, I eagerly waited for it to cook in the microwave checking it in like 20 second intervals, as instructed to in the recipe and was amazed to find it done in about 50 seconds. I simply couldn’t wait to let it cool down sufficiently, impatiently wanting to taste it.

Though it wasn’t the tastiest or prettiest of cakes I had ever eaten or seen in my life, it was quite good enough. I was certain  I would be able to improve my low carb baking with trial and error and tweaking of recipes here and there. Discovering the mug cakes was a real blessing as the cakes were also easy to make and offered automatic portion control plus very low in carbs compared to normal cakes and muffins

What’s more was I could make them using small amounts of my treasured low carb flours and sweeteners, without worrying about making a hole in my pocket or breaking the bank!!!

I thereafter spent hours hunting up the best low carb mug cakes on the internet. ALAS as I mentioned before in another post, my  phone was stolen few days back and with it went some very treasured recipes and pictures of them as well. But I  am certain I will recover some, if not all of them, in time to come, Insha’Allah.

Chocolate Coconut Mug Cake:

1 egg (very well beaten)

1 tsp vanilla essence

1 tblsp melted butter or coconut oil

1 tblsp (or 2) cocoa powder

1 tblsp desiccated (granular) coconut

2 tblsp xylitol or erythritol  (I like to use 1 tblsp xylitol + few drops liquid sweetner as its more economical)

½ tsp baking powder

Blend all the above together well, adding in the beaten egg last to your mixture and blending further. Put into a suitable greased microwave-proof mug or bowl and cook for a minute or so till done, opening and checking regularly at 20 second intervals. TAKE CARE NOT TO OVERCOOK!

Top with whipped cream or a small block of melted chocolate and enjoy.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lettersfromh says:

    yumm… cant wait to try it… jazakAllah for sharing with us…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ketoqueen6 says:

    Got lots more tried n tested ones to share in future posts plus they make very good breakfasts or light suppers too…

    Like

Leave a Reply

