47. EASY LOW CARB PIZZA BASE, IN A JIFFY:

Pizza is a firm favourite of many. Many low carbers however learn that normal pizza bases are usually too high in carbs. They are advised to instead abstain from eating the base and to enjoy and eat only the pizza sauce, toppings n cheese. This is easily done by discarding the high carb pizza base and feeding it to the birds etc. It could also be done by layering the pizza sauce, toppings and cheese on a flat heatproof plate or bowl, heating it till the cheese melts and then consuming it with a spoon. YUM!

Some people however don’t feel pizza is pizza unless its got a good base beneath it.  So though I do eat pizza bowl-style occasionally, I often do try out various low carb wraps and bases in search of a better pizza base alternative. Today however  I tried out a simple 3 ingredient base recipe that I came across in the comment section of a blog. The person raved it was really good so I hadto give it a shot. I wasn’t disappointed as it turned out to be simple, quick, filling and quite good too. Family members that are not low- carbing tasted and gave the verdict that it tastes between a pizza base and an omelette. I noticed however that not only did they finish their slice but they also returned for seconds. Wow! It was that good!!!!l  

If you are also hoping to give it a shot, here’s the recipe I stumbled upon:    
*Basically all you do is take shredded mozzarella cheese (maybe 2 cups), nuke it in the microwave to get it to melt (but not burn). Then, stir in 2 eggs and 1/4 cup of almond flour.  It turns into a doughy consistency, but is sticky, and then  you just spread it on top of buttered parchment paper. Stick that on a pan and into the oven for 20 minutes into the oven at 350 degrees or so and BOOM you have a flatbread/pizza crust. *

I tried out an even easier method. Instead of using my oven, I used my toaster press…I patted the flatbread/ pizza dough into a circle between two sheets of buttered bake paper and toasted it till firm and done. Tadaa! Was quicker, easier and ready in a jiffy! All that was left was to remove the bake paper and to then add my pizza sauce, toppings and cheese. I returned it to my toaster …covering the top of my pizza once more with the bake paper and allowed it to heat a little more till the cheese on the pizza melted. I then transferred it to a plate and removed both layers of bake paper and Wow! Easy Pizza In A Jiffy!!!

Leave a Reply

