54. What Are Pot-Heads?

The other day I came across someone mentioning this growing breed of pressure cooker ‘pot-heads’ that are steadily increasing. I had to check it out via internet and wow!!! This was not a reference to those doing substance abuse but this growing breed were people learning n sharing some innovative cooking recipes and methods using their electric pressure cookers. 
Since there’s been  a marked Interest in pressure cooking posts, I’m sharing with you two posts I came across today…the first post is one on pressure cooker terminology:

https://www.google.co.za/amp/s/instantpot3.wordpress.com/2016/06/11/instant-pot-terminology/amp/?client=ms-android-huawei
Abbreviations &
Terms used in the “Instant Pot Community” Facebook Group

IP = Instant Pot
PC = Pressure Cooker
EPC = Electric Pressure Cooker
QR = Quick Release ..Open valve & release steam quickly
NR = Natural Release
Leave valve closed & allow pressure to drop on it’s own.
NPR = Natural Pressure Release
(same as Natural Release)
10 min NPR = Let pressure drop on it’s own for 10 minutes,then open valve to release remaining steam.
HP = High Pressure
Trivet = the metal rack that goes in the bottom of your pot to keep food out of the liquid.
Seal / Ring = Silicone sealing ring for lid.
PIP = Pot In Pot. Food is put in pan/bowl before putting in Instant Pot.
Sling = Aluminum foil strip used to remove pans when using the Pot-In-Pot method.
HBE = Hard Boiled Egg
6-6-6 = method for cooking hard boiled eggs.
6 minute cook time-6 minute natural pressure release-6 minutes in ice bath.
Fat Daddio = Brand name for springform & push pans.
Grifiti Bands/Big Ass Bands = Brand of large rubber bands
used to remove pans when using Pot-In-Pot method.
Nut Bag = Reusable Nylon mesh bag for straining yogurt.
Pothead = an Instant-Pot user
The second readup post shared is a delightful and informative article on pressure cooking by a lady, who post surgery on her arm was still churning out staples to eat. 

http://www.twentyfouratheart.com/2017/01/becoming-a-pot-head/
Becoming A Pot-Head

Posted on January 20, 2017 at 12:01 am.

Written by Suzanne

This year, on Black Friday, approximately a quarter million Instant Pots were sold.
A quarter million!!
Cookware companies are attempting to copy the Instant Pot as fast as they can, but Instant Pot continues to be a popular brand. My arm surgery was just three weeks ago so cooking is nearly impossible for me right now. But, yesterday I cooked a few “staples” in my Instant Pot to help me get through the next week.

First, I cooked a batch of steel cut oats.  (1 cup steel cut oats, 3 cups water – 10 minutes high pressure, N R.)
It’s so easy to add some milk, warm them up in the microwave, and get out of the house quickly in the morning.
It doesn’t take any “arm power” and it’s a healthy meal.
Yesterday, I also made “perfect” hard boiled eggs to keep handy for snacks, salads, egg salad sandwiches, deviled eggs – whatever.
(Perfect hard boiled eggs: As many large eggs as you want in a steaming basket and/or on a trivet.  1 cup water, 2 minutes HP, 10 minutes NR, followed by ice bath.  Eggs will be “ringless” and peel easier than any hard boiled egg you’ve ever peeled.  Time may vary based on altitude.)
After the eggs, I cooked a whole chicken.  Cook it in chicken broth, water, etc.  (6 minutes per pound plus 2 additional minutes, HP, NR)
I like to cook whole chickens because I can shred the chicken for tacos, burritos, use it cubed in stir fries, salads, etc., etc
I’ve been very limited lately because I can’t use my arm to chop, stir, etc.
But, here are ten other things I’ve made (so easily!) in my Instant Pot!

 Macaroni and Cheese – This isn’t something I normally cook, but I made it when my family was here for the holidays.  It was so easy and fast. You can dress it up or down depending on the cheese/s you use and/or what you decide to add into it.  Once it was done, I topped it with some  bread crumbs and put it under the broiler for 1-2 minutes …. delicious!

Soup – I’m The Queen of Soup.  I love making soups in the fall and winter. I always, always, use homemade stock which is the key to excellent soup. Making stock/broth/bone broth is SO much easier and faster with an Instant Pot.  And, I can make a big pot of it, divide it into individual portions and freeze them for later use.  Long day?  Just reheat some homemade soup at the end of the day!  Honestly, I can throw stuff in my Instant Pot and come back later.  It’s ideal.

Cheesecake – Yes, I really did make an cheesecake in my Instant Pot over the holidays.  My family is still raving about it.  It was so easy, came out perfectly, and you know what I really loved?  It was a small cheesecake.  I used a 7 inch pan so it would fit in the Instant Pot.  Once it was gone, it was gone … no tempting leftovers and I didn’t end up having to throw away half of a cheesecake because there was so much leftover.  The key to a successful cheesecake?  Letting the ingredients get to room temperature …. and that means leaving them out of the fridge for several hours before blending them.

Yogurt – Okay, I thought this was a weird one until I made it myself.  Why were all the Pot Heads raving about making their own yogurt?  Yogurt is not very expensive to buy and there are several excellent brands on the market.  Making your own yogurt only saves you a few pennies per serving, so why all the fuss?  It’s because homemade yogurt is so much better than even the best store bought yogurt.  And, you can control the tanginess.  If you’re cutting calories and want to substitute yogurt for sour cream you can make yogurt that is creamy in texture but with almost no yogurt “tang.” Likewise, if you love tangy yogurt – you can make it to taste.  I’ve made greek yogurt without any toppings, but it would be super easy to make a fresh fruit compote if you desire it.

Rice, Potatoes, Squash – all done perfectly in a fraction of the “normal” cooking time.  (It’s easy to mash the squash/potatoes after cooking, too!)

Perfect Artichokes – in 14 minutes.  (And, I do mean perfect!)

Lobster/Crab/Shellfish – I made a shellfish medley while my son was home. So easy, so fast – and perfectly cooked.

“Baked” apples/pears – Sprinkled with cinnamon and perhaps a pinch of brown sugar, served as dessert. (8 min HP, NR)

Teriyaki Salmon – This might be my family’s favorite dish so far.  The salmon came out so tender, so moist … and it only took 7 minutes to make.

Beef Stew – My boys love beef stew but it has to cook for hours (so long!) for the meat to get the falling-apart-tenderness it needs.  In my Instant Pot, it only took 45 minutes and it was just as good … probably better, than if I’d made it in a traditional way.

Clearly, I’m very enthusiastic about my Instant Pot.
As my arm heals, and gets stronger, I’ll be able to become more adventurous with my Instant Pot cooking.

Do you have an Instant Pot yet?

Leave a Reply

