58. KALE CHIPS: OVEN METHOD AND JIFFY VERSION

Kale is hailed as a real superfood in the media currently, with lots of praise for its benefits. I was so thrilled when I finally came across some during grocery shopping once, especially as it was reasonably priced too. However when I tried it out raw in salads, I realised it was a bit earthy in taste and there was only so much I could eat of it before I felt sick of it. 

My family tasted a bit and declared vehemently that they didn’t really like it much!!! Since I still had soo much left of it, I googled ‘Kale Chips’ and tried it out and couldn’t believe what a hit it turned out with my kids….so much so, that they were even finishing my container of chips at times. Todays post has an editted link that discusses making kale chips and thereafter I show you my cheats version of making ‘kale chips ‘in a jiffy.

http://weelicious.com/2010/03/31/kale-chips/

If I give the kids a choice of sides for dinner without a doubt they will both ask, rather scream for “KALE CHIPS”! They know that they’re a nutritional powerhouse, but that’s not the reason they love them so much. The crunchy texture and taste alone would sell just about anyone. Over the years I’ve made them with every kind of kale I can get my hands on from dinosaur, to curly to purple and more. Each one cooks up as beautiful and delicious as the one before. Make too many? Just pop them into zipper bags or glass containers after they fully cool for a treat you can enjoy all week long!

When you’re trying to inspire kids to eat healthy, my experience has been if whatever you are making for them is in the form of a chip, muffin, pancake or on-a-stick, it’s usually a hit! We’ve been making these kale chips a lot recently and I can’t tell you how fast they disappear! I truly can’t believe how tasty they are — I know that’s a huge statement, but I think I like them even more then potato chips (and that’s saying a lot)! They’re crispy, crunchy and on two recent occasions when I served them to kids — several of whom normally turn their noses up at anything green — they devoured the entire bowl full in minutes.

Another plus is that kale is among the most nutrient rich of all foods. Loaded with vitamin A, C and calcium, this is a vegetable that gets an A plus for nutrition and one that you definitely want your kids to be eating!

Kale Chips  (Serves 4)

Cook Time: 18 mins,

Ingredients

1 bunch kale

1 tablespoon olive oil or (olive) oil spray

Preparation

1. Preheat oven to 325F degrees.

2. Wash and remove stems off the kale and cut leaves into 2 inch pieces.

3. Divide the kale between 2 cookie sheets lined with a Silpat or parchment paper, drizzle with oil (or spray with oil) and toss to coat (make sure there is a bit of space between the pieces of kale so they don’t steam).

4. Bake for 18-20 minutes (keep an eye on them during the last few minutes of cooking so they don’t burn).

5. Serve.

JIFFY VERSION OF MAKING KALE CHIPS

My jiffy version of making kale chips entails washing and blotting dry my kale leaves well. I remove the stems before toasting or sometimes even toast leaves first and then remove stems….either method goes well. I  place kale leaves between bake or parchment paper that I have brushed with coconut oil, ghee, or butter. After that, I simply toast them a few minutes in my flatbed toaster till I feel its toasted enough (crispy) Within a few minutes it’s ready. Watch it carefully till done, cos if it gets over-toasted it will taste a bit scorched. We just add salt and pepper or spices of choice and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

