65. DIY Natural Deodorant

In a previous post we learnt that baking soda can be used as a natural deodorant. After coming across this link in a magazine recently and checking it out, I realised this was a very valuable recipe that really had to be shared. If you’ve been on the hunt for a natural deodorant recently and have had little success thus far, this recipe may just change your life. It’s totally natural, is made with just 4 ingredients and it works incredibly. Let us reduce our toxic deodorants…. with their dubious ingredients for healthier, wholesome ones instead. So here’s the link and detailed recipe below.

http://blog.freepeople.com/2014/06/homemade-allnatural-deodorant/

When I did a post about the seemingly never-ending search for a natural deodorant that actually works, I was incredibly happy to see so many of you share your thoughts – it seems as though lots of us are in the same boat with this issue – and I was really excited to test out the recipes you guys suggested. I read through every single comment, and wrote down every recipe that was shared. In the end, I was left with 4 common ingredients: coconut oil, arrowroot flour, baking soda, and essential oil.
The first day I made this deodorant, I applied it before enduring a zumba class (read: high-energy with lots of sweat). At the end of the hour-long session came the moment of truth. You guys. My underarms smelled good. There was not even a trace of odor – I actually found myself wanting to take more whiffs to smell the delicious essential oil mixture.

As I mentioned in a previous post, each body is totally different – what works for me may unfortunately do nothing for you – but I highly recommend trying this recipe. It certainly works for me, and knowing how many of you have had success with similar mixtures, it at least seems like a great starting point!

DIY Natural Deodorant
Ingredients
½ cup organic coconut oil

¼ cup baking soda

¼ cup arrowroot flour

5-10 drops essential oil mixture (I used jasmine and bergamot)

Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, mix the baking soda and arrowroot flour until well combined. Baking soda can be quite irritating on some skin, so if you think you may be sensitive to it, use less baking soda and more arrowroot flour – or you can substitute arrowroot flour for baking soda completely.

2. Add the coconut oil (room temperature works best) and mix until you reach a smooth consistency – there shouldn’t be any leftover powder. If you feel that your mixture is too dry, add a bit more coconut oil and mix some more.

3. Almost done! Add your essential oil mixture – this is totally optional, but I’m always down for an opportunity to smell great. My newest obsession is bergamot oil, which, when paired with jasmine – in my opinion – creates the most intoxicating scent. I love it.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is awesome . Thanks for sharing but how do u store and use it?

    Like

  2. ketoqueen6 says:

    Mine is in a glass jar with a screwtop lid. Keep it in my cupboard. I did scoop out some out into a small pill bottle to carry in my handbag. Apply by taking a bit on fingertip and massage it into skin of underarms.

    Like

Leave a Reply

